fbpx Prix Ars Electronica: The 2016 Golden Nicas | Ecsite

Prix Ars Electronica: The 2016 Golden Nicas

Photo showing the Golden Nicas that presented during the award ceremony of the Ars Electronica Gala 2013. Credit: Tom Mesic

The Prix Ars Electronica’s grand prize winners are Boris Labbé (FR) in the Computer Animation/Film/VFX category, Christoph Wachter and Mathias Jud (both CH) in Interactive Art+, the P2P Foundation in Digital Communities, Jonas Bodingbauer (AT), a 17-year-old native of Linz in u19 – CREATE YOUR WORLD, and Jasia Reichardt (UK), the prominent art critic and curator, has been singled out for recognition as a Visionary Pioneer of Media Art.

This year’s Prix Ars Electronica competition received a total of 3,159 entries from 84 countries. Most submissions for prize consideration were to Computer Animation/Film/VFX (1,327), followed by Interactive Art+ (896), u19 – CREATE YOUR WORLD (637) and Digital Communities (299).

The Golden Nica statuettes will be formally presented to the honorees at the annual Ars Electronica Gala on September 9, 2016.

You’ll find interviews with the prizewinners on our Blog.