fbpx Mariano Gago Ecsite Awards | Ecsite

Mariano Gago Ecsite Awards

The Mariano Gago Ecsite Awards encourage those people and organisations who demonstrate innovation, creativity and who through their work actively show how they are making an impact. They are a source of inspiration for others.

Mariano Gago Ecsite Awards

Encouraging participation, fostering curiosity, engaging minds, having fun.

Created in 2015, the Mariano Gago Ecsite Awards encourage creative and impactful work within the informal science education sector.
Open to all Ecsite members, they provide a prestigious incentive and reward, and contribute to the development of excellence in science engagement.

The awards are named after José Mariano Gago (1948 - 2015), a key figure of European science engagement. He was a founder of the Portuguese Ciência Viva network of science centres and an active contributor to Ecsite activities over the years. "In a few decades Mariano Gago was able to build a modern scientific community deeply rooted in Portuguese society, implementing his vision that science is source of both technical and human progress. Mariano Gago was also the founder of LIP," explained Mário Pimenta President of the LIP laboratory, generous contributor to the Mariano Gago Ecsite Awards.

Need a visually attractive introduction to the Awards? This brochure is for you.

Past awards

Browse through past editions: categories, winners, jury members...

past awards

2019 Awards

Sustainable Success Award

The Sustainable Success Award celebrates long-lasting impact: projects that embody the values of science engagement, that are visionary and socially relevant.


The 2019 Awards ceremony will be taking place on 6 June 2019, during the Opening ceremony of the Ecsite Conference in Copenhagen, Denmark. The winners receive free conference tickets to attend the ceremony where they will receive a trophy and a certificate.

Application process

You can either put in an application yourself or be prompted to do so by a peer who thinks your project deserves recognition. Note that submission deadlines differ depending on the type of nomination:

  • Deadline for peer-nominations: 3 March
  • Deadline for self-nominations: 5 April

More about the Sustainable Success Award application process

Beacon of the Year Award

The Beacon of the Year Award celebrates inspirational individuals who have been contributing to our field and to the Ecsite network. The Award recognises innovative visionaries who are empowering and motivating their peers to reach a common goal: emboldening citizens to engage with science.


The winner will receive an amount of €2,500, a trophy and a certificate at the ceremony taking place during the Opening event of the 2019 Ecsite Conference (Copenhagen, Denmark) on 6 June 2019. The winner will also receive a free conference registration to attend the award ceremony. The winner’s achievements will be showcased on the Ecsite website for 6 months and will be able to use the Mariano Gago Ecsite Awards logo.

Application process

Ecsite members and their staff can nominate a peer by 5 April. More about the Beacon of the Year Award application process

The Jury