fbpx Mariano Gago Ecsite Awards: get thinking | Ecsite

Mariano Gago Ecsite Awards: get thinking

2019 Ecsite Awardees - who's next?

The Mariano Gago Ecsite Awards encourage creative and impactful work within the informal science education sector. Open to all Ecsite members, they provide a prestigious incentive and reward, and contribute to the development of excellence in science engagement.

Does your project deserve an Award? Or do you know an initative or peer who does? The call for the 2020 edition is open, with two categories: Beacon of the Year and Sustainable Success.

If you happen to be working on session proposals for the 2020 Ecsite Conference, they might be a good source of inspiration. Might that project you're thinking of showcasing in a session also be award material? What about this colleague who has been pulling together conference workshops in your area of expertise for years, could they perhaps be our next Beacon of the Year?

Two categories

The Sustainable Success Award celebrates long-lasting impact: projects that embody the values of science engagement, that are visionary and socially relevant. For this Award, organisations put their own applications in or be prompted to do so by a peer who thinks their project deserves recognition. Apply for this Award by 31 January. Or perhaps you know a great project or organisation too shy to step forward themselves? Give them a little nudge and peer-nominate them by 31 December 2019.

The Beacon of the Year Award celebrates inspirational individuals who have been contributing to our field and to the Ecsite network. The Award recognises innovative visionaries who are empowering and motivating their peers to reach a common goal: emboldening citizens to engage with science. This Award is peer-nominated. Do you know someone who deserves this high recognition? Nominate them by 31 January 2020.

You'll find everything you need to know on the dedicated page.


  • #ecsiteawards
  • 2020
  • peer-nomination
  • recognition
  • prize

Mariano Gago Ecsite Award

2020 Awards

In 2020, Maya Halevy (Director at The Bloomfield Science Museum Jerusalem) won the Beacon of the Year Award for personal embodiment of our network’s values. Copernicus Science Centre (Warsaw, Poland) and IMAGINARY (Berlin, Germany) shared the ‘Sustainable Success’ category. Copernicus won for their Young Explorers Clubs - a project whose objective is to enable children and young adults to develop collaboration, critical thinking, and problem solving skills and Imaginary who promote and focus on celebrating mathematics and on engaging the general public.