fbpx 2021 Mariano Gago Ecsite Awards now open | Ecsite

2021 Mariano Gago Ecsite Awards now open

The Mariano Gago Ecsite Awards encourage creative and impactful work within the informal science education sector. Open to all Ecsite members, they provide a prestigious incentive and reward, and contribute to the development of excellence in science engagement.

Changes for 2021

Reflecting the changes that have taken place throughout 2020, the 2021 Ecsite Awards will have a new category: the Responsible and Responsive Award. This award aims to recognise institutions not only for their resilience, but for original, creative ideas that have had positive impact for communities at a time of crisis. Initiatives that have created methodologies that can be replicated in other organisations and which have demonstrated support and care in such a challenging period will be positively received.

There are two deadlines for submissions: 30 June for peer nominations and 30 July if you are nominating your own institution.

Alongside our new award, we also see the return of nominations for the Beacon of the Year. Previous winners include Maya Halevy and Barbara Streicher. This award celebrates inspirational individuals who have been contributing to our field and to the Ecsite network and recognises innovative visionaries who are empowering and motivating their peers to reach a common goal: emboldening citizens to engage with science.

The deadline to nominate a peer for Beacon of the Year is 30 July.

The winners will be announced at the Directors Forum on 4 November in Manchester, United Kingdom.

For more detailed information on how to submit a nomination, or the Mariano Gago Awards, please read our 'how to apply' guides and brochure.


  • Mariano Gago Ecsite Award
  • beacon of the year
  • Responsible and Responsive

Mariano Gago Ecsite Award

2021 Awards

Submissions for the 2021 Awards are now open. This year there are two awards available; Beacon of the Year, plus a new award created specifically to reflect the challenges over the last twelve months, the Responsible and Responsive Award.