fbpx 2021 Mariano Gago Ecsite Awards are open | Ecsite

2021 Mariano Gago Ecsite Awards are open

The Mariano Gago Ecsite Awards encourage creative and impactful work within the informal science education sector. Open to all Ecsite members, they provide a prestigious incentive and reward, and contribute to the development of excellence in science engagement.

Changes for 2021

Reflecting the changes that have taken place throughout the previous 18 months, the 2021 Ecsite Awards have a new category: the Responsible and Responsive Award. This award aims to recognise institutions not only for their resilience, but for original, creative ideas that have had positive impact for communities at a time of crisis. Initiatives that have created methodologies that can be replicated in other organisations and which have demonstrated support and care in such a challenging period will be positively received.

The deadline is 30 July to nominate your own institution.

Alongside our new award, we also see the return of nominations for the Beacon of the Year. Previous winners include Maya Halevy and Barbara Streicher. This award celebrates inspirational individuals who have been contributing to our field and to the Ecsite network and recognises innovative visionaries who are empowering and motivating their peers to reach a common goal: emboldening citizens to engage with science.

The deadline to nominate a peer for Beacon of the Year is 30 July.

The winners will be announced at the Directors Forum on 4 November.

For more detailed information on how to submit a nomination, or the Mariano Gago Awards, please read our 'how to apply' guides and brochure.


  • Mariano Gago Ecsite Award
  • beacon of the year
  • Responsible and Responsive

Mariano Gago Ecsite Award

2022 Awards

The winners were announced in June at the Ecsite Conference 2022 in Heilbronn. The 2022 Beacon of the Year Award was presented to Anna Omedes, former Director of the Museum of Natural Science in Barcelona, for her personal embodiment of the network’s values. The winner of the Responsible and Responsive award in 2022 was The International Centre for Life in Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom for their project E=MC2 online.