fbpx UNESCO Kalinga Prize for the Popularization of Science | Ecsite

UNESCO Kalinga Prize for the Popularization of Science


UNESCO Kalinga Prize is an international distinction awarding outstanding contributions of individuals in communicating science to society and promoting the popularization of science. The deadline for submissions is 27 May 2017.

Qualifications and Nomination of Candidates

Candidates shall have made a significant contribution to the popularization of science. The Prize may be conferred only upon individuals. A work that has been produced by two or three persons shall not be considered.

Nominations shall be submitted to the Director-General by the governments of Member States, in consultation with their National Commissions, and by non-governmental organizations maintaining official partnerships with UNESCO. A self-nomination cannot be considered. Each Member State and non-governmental organization may designate one candidate.

Each nomination shall be accompanied by a written recommendation, which shall include five copies (paper or electronic) of the following documents, in English or French:

  • Description of the candidate’s background;
  • Completed submission form;
  • Summary of the work or the results of the work on the popularization of science, including publications and other supporting materials;
  • Description of how the candidate’s submitted work has contributed to the popularization of science.

Important regulations on the qualifications of candidates

  • Candidates can be writers, editors, lecturers, radio/television programme directors or film producers who have devoted their career to interpreting science, research and technology for the general public.
  • The applicant does not need to have a science degree.
  • This prize does not reward research.
  • This prize does not reward formal teaching (in a school/university), nor curriculum development for the formal learning sector.

This year’s winner will be awarded by the Director-General during the World Science Forum to be held in Amman (Jordan) on 11 and 12 November 2017. The recipient will receive a monetary award of $20,000, a certificate, and the UNESCO Albert Einstein silver medal.

More information on the regulations and application until 27 May 2017.


  • Award
  • Unesco
  • scicomm
  • call for nomination