fbpx Applications for EMYA 2022 now open | Ecsite

Applications for EMYA 2022 now open

Applications for EMYA 2021 are now open

European Museum of the Year Award

The European Museum of the Year Award is the continent’s oldest and most prestigious museum prize. The focus of EMYA is on innovation in public quality which is something that can be achieved by museums no matter what their size, location, or collection – museums of every type are encouraged to apply. EMYA winner for 2019 was Ecsite member Rijksmuseum Boerhaave, Leiden, The Netherlands. For a full list of previous winners you can visit the European Forum website.

The EMF Annual Assembly and EMYA Ceremony takes place over three days, usually in May the year after application, and is a unique opportunity to get an overview of museum creativity right across Europe and to network with those leading these innovations.

Eligibility and Application Form

All European museums which are not for profit and have opened or been substantially renewed since January 2017 are eligible to apply. The EMYA Jury is looking for innovations in public quality that are likely to have a significant influence in the national and international museum field.

To apply please complete the online application form available here or download and fill in a Word version of the form (available below).

Once completed, please send the form and the materials requested (please visit the EMYA website for guidelines and more) to emf@europeanforum.museum.


  • EMYA 2022
  • european museums
  • rijksmuseum boerhaave